The Financial Dashboard – December 2019

The goals for December were:

  • Continue to exercise 4x a week
  • Keep a record of all dietary intake (what gets measured gets managed)
  • Sell 5 items (need to get back on my de-clutter)
  • Save 30% of my salary

Checking the assets and liabilities:

Dec 2019 AssetsDec 2019 Liabilities

These are taken, as always, from my Beast Budget spreadsheet. This month my net worth grew by 14.42%, though not due to any stonking savings rate. Instead it was down to a house revaluation, which brought our equity up in our home up by £20k. My savings rate missed my goal at a measly 23.85%, leaving my average for the 12 months at 23.52%.

Goals:

Goal failed: Continue to exercise 4x a week

Work, Christmas parties and a break away to stay with family meant that I only managed three times a week. There’s a recurring theme this month…

Goal failed: Keep a record of all dietary intake

Failed at this too. I’ve downloaded an app to try for January.

Goal failed: Sell 5 items

Nope. Next…

Goal failed: Save 30% of my salary

Not even close. Should and could have been, however we had a plumbing emergency the week before Christmas, requiring a dip into the emergency fund. A couple of years ago this would have gone on a credit card, and hung around my head like a noose for the following year. Now the £2k could be paid immediately, without breaking a sweat, and the emergency fund topped straight back up at the end of the month.

Budgets

  • Groceries – Budget £200, spent £195.46, last month £157.76 – This probably should have been more, but we ate out a lot and didn’t host for Christmas
  • Entertainment – Budget £100, spent £242.95, last month £119 – Christmas parties, breaks away, beers, beers and prosecco!
  • Transport – Budget £460, spent £406.16, last month £394.05 – More work to the daily, and it needs further if I’m not to replace it soon
  • Holiday – £150, spent £0, last month £0
  • Personal – £100/ £56.99/ £102.90
  • Loans/ Credit – £0/ £0/ £0
  • Misc – £50/ £25.50/ £109.16
  • Fees – £70 /£109.49/ £135.40

In the garden:

Harvesting root veg, and now tidying up in preparation for planting next year.

Goals for next month… take 2:

  • Continue to exercise 4x a week
  • Keep a record of all dietary intake
  • Sell 5 items 
  • Fix my car

Happy New Year everyone,

The Shrink

Leave a comment